History of Hayes Amateur Boxing Club

Hayes Amateur Boxing Club was formed in 1948. Trainer Dickie Gunn, Arthur Clements, Sidney Dawe, and J Wilkes started the club at Hayes's Townfield School. Interim locations included St Christopher's Approved School and Harlington Scout Hut. In 1978 the club was granted a piece of land by Hillingdon Council at the back of Judge Heath Lane Sports Centre. A concerted effort by club-trainers, boxers and committee-members produced for the club a purpose-built gym. The building of the club was led by Phil Edwards, Joe Moore, and Laurie Martell, to whom the club will always be grateful. In 2006 the land on which the gym was built was sold for development, and, following a campaign, a replacement facility was built to the front of the former Hayes Stadium. In April 2009, the club was opened by John Conteh Light Heavy Weight Champion of the World.

From its formation, the club has produced successful boxers at national competition level. Chris Finnegan represented the pinnacle of our club's success, winning the 1966 Amateur Boxing Association Middleweight title, before going on to win the Olympic Middleweight gold medal in 1968.

In the 2012 as part of the London Olympics celebrations a blue plaque was mounted above the club entrance dedicated to Chris Finnegan’s 1968 Gold Medal win.

Boxers Past and Present

The club has had many champions of the years who are listed below.

Amateur’s Past

National Schools Boy Champion   -   Terry Blackmore

Young England International & London Senior Finalist   -   Kenny Mordue

Army Champion and Junior Trainer   -   Freddie Brown

ABA Champion 1966 & Olympic Gold Medalist 1968   -   Chris Finnegan

ABA Champion 1969   -   Mickey Piner

National School Boys & Federation of School Boys   -   Ian Curran

3 Times North West Division & Champion and Senior Trainer   -   Lance Bantleman

North West Division Finalist   -   Kevin Finnegan

North West Division Finalist and Senior Trainer   -   Dave Currivan

National Novice Finalist   -   Darren McKenna

        North West Divsion Team

     Trophy 1968-1969

Lance Bantleman

Kenny  Mordue

Mickey Piner

Kevin Finnegan


Amateur’s Present


      Haringey  Gold Cup Winners

      Ryan Toms     -     2008

 Josh Winward     -     2009

Elvis Makoda     -     2009

Kolenkow     -     2009

Don Gudinausks     -     2011

Lewis Lye     -     2012/2013

Junior Multi National Winner   -   Jake Callingham   -   2013


First club professional   -   Leo Maloney

British Commonwealth Champion & European Champion   -   Chris Finnegan MBE

British Champion & European Champion   -   Kevin Finnegan

British Champion   -   Willy Riley

Scottish Champion   -   Steve Watt

Southern Area Champion & Boxed for British title   -   Simon Harris

Southern Area Champion & Boxed for British title   -   Anthony Campbell

2x Southern Area Champion & Boxed for English title   -   Ryan Toms